The nomination period is open for the 2022 William L. Norton, Jr. Judicial Excellence Award. This collaboration between the American Bankruptcy Institute (ABI) and Thomson Reuters honors a distinguished bankruptcy judge whose career embodies the same dedication to the insolvency community as the award’s namesake, the late bankruptcy judge and longtime West author William L. Norton, Jr.

Since 2006, this award has been presented annually to a judge who has distinguished him or herself as an educator, writer, or scholar at the National Conference of Bankruptcy Judges (NCBJ).

This year’s award will be presented at the NCBJ annual meeting in Orlando on Oct. 19 – 22.

Recipients are nominated by their fellow judges and attorneys based on their record of service, achievements, and leadership throughout their career. Recipients are selected  by a committee of six outstanding bankruptcy attorneys. Recent winners have included bankruptcy judges Eugene R. Wedoff, Mary F. Walrath, Keith M. Lundin, Harlin D. Hale, and Randolph J. Haines.

Thomson Reuters presents a commemorative plaque to the recipient and donates $5,000 to the ABI Endowment for Education in the recipient’s name. These funds are used by the ABI and NCBJ toward joint projects to foster bankruptcy education and research.

To nominate a judge, click here. Submissions are due July 25, 2022.

This guest post was written by Kathryn Copeland, principal attorney editor at Thomson Reuters.

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share